“I Could Never Get an Abortion”

“What do you think about abortion?”, I asked a woman as I sat down next to her, looking at our signs. “Well, I would have an abortion today if I found out that I was pregnant”, she responded. “Why?”, I asked. “Because I am not in position to support a child financially.”

Training
This month I went to Iowa to train students in pro-life apologetics.

I responded by saying, “My wife and I are financially stable, we both have jobs and could support a child if we found out we were pregnant. So, let’s say that we do find out we are pregnant today, and in a year we both lose our jobs and can’t provide for ourselves or our child. Would it then be okay if we decided to kill our new born baby since we can’t take care of it?” “No, that would be wrong”, she quickly said. “Why would it be wrong to kill the born baby but okay to kill the preborn baby? Both are in the same situation.”

After I asked her that, she sat and looked at the sign depicting an aborted baby for a couple of minutes, then she replied, “Is that really what abortion does to babies?” I explained to her how abortions are performed for a few minutes. Still looking at the picture, she replied “I think abortion is always wrong – I could never get an abortion.”

Woman_Downtown
This woman said, “I hate abortion, thank you for what you are doing.”

It is amazing to see what happens when someone is shown what abortion does, and why there is no relevant difference between killing a born baby and a preborn baby.

It is awesome to see how God is working through our partnership to change the way that someone thinks and feels about abortion. I am grateful to be standing with you as we present the truth of abortion and the hope of the Gospel to this hurting world.

God bless,

Ian

P.S. I am slightly short of my monthly financial goal. Will you connect me with others who would be interested in partnering with us to change minds and save lives from abortion?

Author: Ian Spencer

I am the Director of Programs for an anti-abortion organization seeking to end the greatest human rights injustice of our day, Created Equal. I have been redeemed through the precious blood of my Savior, Jesus Christ. I enjoy spending time with my lovely wife, friends, reading, drinking coffee, and listening to music.

Leave a comment